• 5 Tweet Tuesday
  • Posts
  • Winners and Losers - Failed Business Deals, Ozempic and Mini Katana's

Winners and Losers - Failed Business Deals, Ozempic and Mini Katana's

How I almost bought myself a job for $750k

Welcome to Winners and Losers

This email is fun, and more importantly, QUICK to read (I think 2 min read time)

It’s called “winners & losers”. Lmk if you like this format (just reply “like it” or “nope”) 

WINNERS & LOSERS

1. WINNER: This ecom store makes ~$10M+/yr selling mini Katanas (like, the sword) without running any paid ads. How? Just by posting tiktoks & youtube shorts. Cray cray.

2. LOSER: I took a small L this week.

I tried to buy a business and failed. It’s an agency that does $1.2M/yr of revenue, $500k/yr profit…but crazy churn and no management team. I offered $750k…No deal.

So why is this a loss? Not because they said now… but because if they said yes, I would have just been buying myself a job! Gotta be more patient/selective 

3. WINNER: I did a weekend getaway with founder friends at this epic AirBnB.

The owner is Mark Jenney (he built RV Share, and sold it for $100m+). Now he owns 20-ish luxury Airbnbd worth ~$50M (largest luxury airbnb portfolio, I think).

I finally played pickleball for the first time. I get the hype now.

4. LOSER: These weight loss ‘miracle drugs’ (Ozempic, Wegovy) are losers…as in, ‘weight losers’. Tons of celebrities (hollywood, elon musk, etc.) are using them to lose weight. And look at the search volume

5. WINNER: I heard a great question: “Forget about money, what career choice would you have the most self-respect for if you chose it?”

Ps. For those who are wondering - who is this guy, and what is this email?

My name is Shaan. 3 quick things you should know about me:

  • I start companies (sold my last two)

  • I host a podcast that’s pretty popular (My First Million)  

  • I am a big, big fan of the 1995 smash hit “This is how we do it” by Montell Jordan. 

After selling my company last month, I have a lot of time on my hands, which explains why I write random emails like this to strangers.

But don’t be a stranger, hit reply - say hi and introduce yourself too!