5 Tweet Tuesday - July 23, 2024

💎  5 Tweet Tuesday 💎 

If you’re new around here, every week I share the 5 best tweets I saw in the past 7 days.

I scroll, so you don’t have to.

Let’s get to it:

#1 💎 

Compounding has 3 parts, but everyone focuses on the first two.

1 - rate of growth (%)

2 - starting amount

3 - length of runway (patience)

Buffett & Munger don’t have the highest rate of growth (theirs is around ~20% annually) but they did it for 50+ years.

As Morgan Housel said: “His skill is investing, but his secret is time”.

99% of Buffett’s net worth was accumulated after he turned 65.

#2 💎 

An insightful little gem from Tumblr of all places.

#3 💎 

This is the email that created AirBnB (now, a $94B company)

The line that stood out to me? The simple: “Ha!” at the end.

Big ideas are often disguised in quirky, small packages.

What if we could push a button and a private driver showed up to pick us up, Ha!

What if we sent each other photos that self-destruct after 10 seconds, Ha!

What if we created a digital currency, based on math instead of government, Ha!

#4 💎 

I think there’s a lot of wisdom in this.

I first noticed this in my life about Poker. Getting to to the top 10% of players was a thrill, and taught me so many useful things. But trying to grind to the top 1% would have been a waste of the next 10 years.

I think this applies to making money too. I know many people who’ve already earned the last dollar they’ll ever spend. Now trading more life-hours for money is a foolish trade, but they can’t help themselves.

#5 💎 

A+ politics / dating crossover joke 😂

BONUS 💎

This had the 3 things I like in a book:

- stories (negotiating a deal with Charlie Munger)

- numbers (exact deal terms)

- lessons (from mistakes)

LET ME HEAR IT

What’d you think of this email? Tap your choice below and lemme hear it 👇